Adium throwing Yahoo Unknown error (1240) upon login

An instant messenger which can connect to AIM, GTalk, Jabber, ICQ, and more.
lori2106
Harmless

Adium throwing Yahoo Unknown error (1240) upon login

Postby lori2106 » Sun Jan 26, 2014 3:33 am

Screen Shot 2014-01-25 at 10.13.49 PM.png
error 1240 with screenname covered
Screen Shot 2014-01-25 at 10.13.49 PM.png (150.68 KiB) Viewed 10311 times

All of a sudden, Adium is giving "(Yahoo): Error... Unknown error (1240)"

I am new to the forum, but I've been using Adium for years with no issues that were not self-resolvable, forgive my n00bness if I am posting wrong... I did read all the posts O:)

I've not upgraded recently, but I did reinstall and preserve my Contents. I tried with a new clean install, as well as migrated my previous Contents to the fresh install.
Also have deleted and re-added Yahoo to Adium. The yahoo messenger app and all other chat hubs work fine with Yahoo.
And Yes, I am a tech agent, I knew to reboot :) I've looked thru the forums, not seeing this error.

All other accounts work without issue, MSN, XMPP, FB, etc... only Yahoo is giving this error.
Adium vs 1.5.9
Mac OS X 10.9.1

Robby
Cocoaforge Admin

Re: Adium throwing Yahoo Unknown error (1240) upon login

Postby Robby » Sun Jan 26, 2014 11:37 am

Hi, thanks for your detailed description and troubleshooting efforts. =-) I saw this error reported yesterday (https://developer.pidgin.im/ticket/15875) but a quick web search didn't find me any information either, unfortunately. For now, I'd hope it's a temporary issue and goes away soon.

lori2106
Harmless

Postby lori2106 » Sun Jan 26, 2014 3:07 pm

Well I was actually looking on Pidgin as well, but since this wasn't related to Pidgin, I wanted to post in the Adium thread.
I use pidgin on my work PC, and yahoo loads fine w/out issue within that specific client. It seems to be isolated to Adium, for over a week now :( :!:

thanks for your reply

Robby
Cocoaforge Admin