Adium insists on using UK spellings

An instant messenger which can connect to AIM, GTalk, Jabber, ICQ, and more.
haroon
Harmless
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:11 pm

Adium insists on using UK spellings

Postby haroon » Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:53 am

My system language is set to US English, but the spellchecker in Adium insists on adhering to UK English (e.g., it marks "color" as being incorrect and wants to substitute it with "colour"). I don't have this problem with any other apps.

I'm running 10.12.6.

shaosean
Muffin
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 1:29 pm

Re: Adium insists on using UK spellings

Postby shaosean » Sun Aug 06, 2017 9:59 am

Check Edit > Spelling > Show Spelling and Grammar and see if it is set to Automatic By Language or British English..
You can also check System Preferences > Keyboard > Text to see what your system is set up for, but based on your post, it sounds like it's just an Adium setting..

haroon
Harmless
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:11 pm

Re: Adium insists on using UK spellings

Postby haroon » Sun Aug 06, 2017 10:08 am

That fixed it. Thanks! I doubt I ever changed that setting, so it's kind of strange it was set to British English.

shaosean
Muffin
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 1:29 pm

Re: Adium insists on using UK spellings

Postby shaosean » Mon Aug 07, 2017 10:20 pm

Image


Return to “Adium”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot]