what are people doing with custom notifications?

An iPhone client for Growl available on the App Store.
bobpatterson
Harmless

what are people doing with custom notifications?

Postby bobpatterson » Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:41 pm

just wondering what people are doing with custom notifications with prowl.

I am using this with nagios (our monitoring software, I am a systems engineer and this is very nice for notifications instead of sms)

~bob

joule
Harmless

Re: what are people doing with custom notifications?

Postby joule » Thu Jul 09, 2009 10:24 pm

I have asterisks both at home and at the office. I usually have my iPhone with me at all times, but not my phone, so I send caller id from asterisk at home to my iphone using a custom script, and at the office using growl. This has the added benefit that I don't receive notifications when I am at my desk. Also, using azexec, I receive notifications when Vuze finished downloading a torrent. (I have vuze on a headless machine, so it is VERY useful).

bobpatterson
Harmless

Postby bobpatterson » Thu Jul 09, 2009 10:30 pm

yeah im going to get torrents working tonight on my home server (i run a fedora machine as my main server)

I was also going to set up alerts on it for various systems issues so I can get updates instead of having to read my email or log onto the machine

balu
Harmless

Postby balu » Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:01 pm

pushing twitter direkt messages and some jabber requests

Interstink
Harmless

Postby Interstink » Fri Jul 10, 2009 2:03 am

Currently using Prowl to...
Push Voicemail Notifications from our PBX (Used to use email to SMS).
From our Solarwinds Network Monitor we wrote a script for growl, now prowling/pushing all NOC notifications.
IRC Channel Direct msg.
IM - initial chat requests from our Support IM Client/Server.
Package Deliveries.
Network Operations Center Room Temperature when above a set threshold.
Our Twiiter account for dir. msg.