MSN Error: Authentication failed

An instant messenger which can connect to AIM, GTalk, Jabber, ICQ, and more.
theFreshman
Harmless
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 1:17 pm

MSN Error: Authentication failed

Postby theFreshman » Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:39 am

i keep getting this message; MSN Error: Authentication failed and i dont know why. i havnt done anything. nor was i doing anything when i got the messages.

im wondering if someone might be trying to add me to their list (msn) and adium is having problems.

does anyone eles know what this might be?

stevekelley

i can confirm this

Postby stevekelley » Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:52 am

I am too.
Last edited by stevekelley on Sat Feb 03, 2007 10:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

mynameismatt89
Harmless
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:03 am

Postby mynameismatt89 » Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:54 am

yea, i just made a post about this too, cause the exact same thing keeps happening to me. This is what i posted....


Hey,

I keep getting the same 'error' or 'notice' and sometimes get a connection error where my messages may not have been sent; but my internet and other stuff still works. A message will come up and say...

Adium: Notice

MSN Error: Authentication Failed

What can i do about this... when this happens it sometimes prevents me from sending or receiving messages. Should i try a different program?

Thanks,
Matt




anybody know whats wrong with it?

mynameismatt89
Harmless
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:03 am

Postby mynameismatt89 » Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:57 am

this is what some googling found, but how can we fix it?...

Authentication failed
Sent in response to some invalid formats of the USR command to the DS. Also sent if the account name is invalid.
>>> USR 3 TWN S example@passport.com\r\n
<<< 911 3\r\n

>>> USR 4 TWN I passport.com\r\n
<<< 911 4\r\n
Sent in response to an invalid TWN value sent in the second USR command to the NS. Also sent if the account name is invalid or nonexistent.
>>> USR 6 TWN S t=some_invalid_value\r\n
<<< 911 6\r\n
Also sent in response to problems authenticating with the switchboard with USR or ANS.
>>> USR 1 myname_123@hotmail.com 486979.1047702516.105\r\n
<<< 911 1\r\n
>>> ANS 1 myname_123@hotmail.com 849102291.520491932 11752098\r\n
<<< 911 1\r\n

m2e
Mocha
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 2:43 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby m2e » Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:06 am

What version of Adium are you using?
Does Adium continue to work fine apart from this message?

mynameismatt89
Harmless
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:03 am

Postby mynameismatt89 » Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:43 am

i am running version 0.89.1 . This problem occurs alot.. but yes, is the only problem. Besides the occasionally message coming up in the conversation window 'an error has occured, this message may not have been sent'

If i get adium metal, will it be any different?

mynameismatt89
Harmless
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:03 am

Postby mynameismatt89 » Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:46 am

or, instead of metal... what if i get this

http://beta.adiumx.com/

LuxuryChair
Frappa
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 1:51 am
Location: La Crescenta, CA
Contact:

Postby LuxuryChair » Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:54 am

mynameismatt89 wrote:or, instead of metal... what if i get this

http://beta.adiumx.com/


There is no chance that the metal adium would help, it uses the exact same code as .89. The beta, on the other hand, does have some modifications to the code, but I'm not sure if any of them relate to your problem. You can always try it and see if you continue to have problems.
Image

Sean
Latté
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 2:54 am
Location: NJ

Postby Sean » Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:29 am

Happening for me too on newest beta, it is an MSN problem I think.

silver10
Harmless
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 11:32 am

Postby silver10 » Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:30 am

I'm having the same problem in the Beta.

I also get 'Could not send; a connection error occurred.' A LOT. It's so annoying.

mynameismatt89
Harmless
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:03 am

Postby mynameismatt89 » Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:34 am

so do you think if we try msn for mac or mercury chat we wont have the problem anymore?

LuxuryChair
Frappa
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 1:51 am
Location: La Crescenta, CA
Contact:

Postby LuxuryChair » Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:37 am

mynameismatt89 wrote:so do you think if we try msn for mac or mercury chat we wont have the problem anymore?


Try it, let us know if it makes a difference.
Image

mynameismatt89
Harmless
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:03 am

Postby mynameismatt89 » Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:46 am

well, in mercury it has the same 'could not send, a connection error occured' but just re-worded. So i dont know what the hell's going on

User avatar
djmori
Mocha
Posts: 522
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 2:08 am
Location: Bogota, Colombia
Contact:

Postby djmori » Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:17 am

It seems to be something wrong in msn servers.. this is not mac nor adium specific.

Zack777
Harmless
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 2:59 am
Location: CA
Contact:

Postby Zack777 » Thu Jan 18, 2007 7:32 am

I think its working again! :lol:

LuxuryChair
Frappa
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 1:51 am
Location: La Crescenta, CA
Contact:

Postby LuxuryChair » Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:25 am

There's a flood of threads and posts regarding this every few months, I guess we can thank Microsoft for the stability of their chat servers. :???:
Image

Zack777
Harmless
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 2:59 am
Location: CA
Contact:

Postby Zack777 » Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:26 am

LuxuryChair wrote:There's a flood of threads and posts regarding this every few months, I guess we can thank Microsoft for the stability of their chat servers. :???:

Guess so


Return to “Adium”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users