1.2: Not saving typing area size and resizing it randomly

An instant messenger which can connect to AIM, GTalk, Jabber, ICQ, and more.
jvasquez
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:02 pm

1.2: Not saving typing area size and resizing it randomly

Postby jvasquez » Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:07 pm

Good afternoon,

Just installed the 1.2 update this morning.

It hosed my preferences randomly from the start, especially with respect to window sizes and locations and dock icon. Went through the troubleshooting and renamed all the prefs and reset them, etc.

It's approximately working again, but the typing area portion of a chat window always comes up one line in height. I can change it, but it won't save it and sometimes while I'm typing (after resizing to multiple lines in height) it will spontaneously resize it to one line again.

It's driving me NUTS! Help! =)

Thank you,

User avatar
zac
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 1518
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 3:19 pm
Contact:

Postby zac » Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:13 pm

Fixed for 1.2.1.

cng
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:22 pm

Postby cng » Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:30 pm

How does one find the 1.2.1 update? The "Check for Updates" link says 1.2 is the latest version. This issue is driving me nuts too. Thanks.

User avatar
zac
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 1518
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 3:19 pm
Contact:

Postby zac » Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:48 pm

1.2.1 is not out yet.

mvanhorn
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:28 pm

Postby mvanhorn » Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:30 pm

When will 1.2.1 be released? This is driving me nuts, too. It really hurts the usability of Adium.

User avatar
Catfish_Man
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:30 am
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Postby Catfish_Man » Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:48 pm

Beta 1 of 1.2.1 was released on the 14th.

Vlcice
Muffin
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 2:58 am

Postby Vlcice » Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:44 am

Did this fix make it into 1.2.1? I just upgraded, and this is still happening to me.

User avatar
Catfish_Man
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:30 am
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Postby Catfish_Man » Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:47 am

Odd. Definitely seems fixed to me...

Vlcice
Muffin
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 2:58 am

Postby Vlcice » Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:57 am

Hm, strange. Could there have been more than one cause of the same symptom? I'm definitely still seeing this consistently.

germanturkey
Harmless
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 8:18 pm

Postby germanturkey » Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:19 am

the new 1.2.1b1 fixes this problem.

User avatar
Catfish_Man
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:30 am
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Postby Catfish_Man » Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:23 am

germanturkey wrote:the new 1.2.1b1 fixes this problem.


Actually 1.2.1b1 is old... 1.2.1 final is out, which I presume is what the latest comments are referring to.

Vlcice
Muffin
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 2:58 am

Postby Vlcice » Sat Jan 19, 2008 6:21 am

Yes, I'm using 1.2.1 final and am still having this problem.

User avatar
evands
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 3152
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 10:55 pm
Location: Decatur, GA
Contact:

Postby evands » Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:36 pm

Please describe step by step what you're doing to elicit the problem.
The duck still burns.
--
My company: Saltatory Software. Check it out :)

Vlcice
Muffin
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 2:58 am

Postby Vlcice » Sat Jan 19, 2008 10:05 pm

1. Type a multi-line message.
2. Send the message.
3. The size the text bar returns to will have increased by several pixels over the default for every line of text typed beyond one. A two-line message will increase the size of the text box by four pixels, a three-line message will increase it by six, a four-line message will increase it by seven, a five-line message will increase it by nine, and so forth. A single-line message will not increase the size of the text box at all.

The text box can be resized back to the proper default size, but will grow again the next time a multi-line message is sent.

The effect is not entirely cumulative; if the text box has been raised by four pixels via a two-line message, a later two-line message will not increase it any further, and a three-line message will increase it only by a further two pixels, not six.

ranathari
Harmless
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:09 pm

Postby ranathari » Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:15 pm

I'm also having this problem with 1.2 and 1.2.1. A one line message leaves the textbox as-is but a two line message will expand the textbox to fit the two-line message and it fails to return to the previous size after sending the message.

User avatar
evands
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 3152
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 10:55 pm
Location: Decatur, GA
Contact:

Postby evands » Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:08 pm

ranathari wrote:I'm also having this problem with 1.2 and 1.2.1. A one line message leaves the textbox as-is but a two line message will expand the textbox to fit the two-line message and it fails to return to the previous size after sending the message.

I can't reproduce this. What version of Mac OS X are you using?
The duck still burns.

--

My company: Saltatory Software. Check it out :)

Vlcice
Muffin
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 2:58 am

Postby Vlcice » Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:24 pm

If that also applies to me, I'm using 10.4.11.

User avatar
evands
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 3152
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 10:55 pm
Location: Decatur, GA
Contact:

Postby evands » Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:39 am

So you're seeing:
Type a 2 line message
Send it
The text entry area doesn't return to normal

Just that easy?
The duck still burns.

--

My company: Saltatory Software. Check it out :)

Vlcice
Muffin
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 2:58 am

Postby Vlcice » Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:48 am

Close to that yes. I can't vouch for ranthari's variation, but for me it is returning to a smaller size - just not down to the default. (And the size it does return to grows after further multi-lines messages.)

ranathari
Harmless
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:09 pm

Postby ranathari » Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:40 am

I'm using 10.4.11 too and my problem's the same as Vlcice's. Type a one line message and the textbox stays the same, type a two line message and the textbox expands to fit it but doesn't return to the standard size after sending the message. The more multiline messages you send, the greater the size of the textbox after each one.

The problem started after upgrading to 1.2 and remained after moving to 1.2.1.


Return to “Adium”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users