Page 1 of 2

1.2: Not saving typing area size and resizing it randomly

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:07 pm
by jvasquez
Good afternoon,

Just installed the 1.2 update this morning.

It hosed my preferences randomly from the start, especially with respect to window sizes and locations and dock icon. Went through the troubleshooting and renamed all the prefs and reset them, etc.

It's approximately working again, but the typing area portion of a chat window always comes up one line in height. I can change it, but it won't save it and sometimes while I'm typing (after resizing to multiple lines in height) it will spontaneously resize it to one line again.

It's driving me NUTS! Help! =)

Thank you,

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:13 pm
by zac
Fixed for 1.2.1.

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:30 pm
by cng
How does one find the 1.2.1 update? The "Check for Updates" link says 1.2 is the latest version. This issue is driving me nuts too. Thanks.

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:48 pm
by zac
1.2.1 is not out yet.

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:30 pm
by mvanhorn
When will 1.2.1 be released? This is driving me nuts, too. It really hurts the usability of Adium.

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:48 pm
by Catfish_Man
Beta 1 of 1.2.1 was released on the 14th.

Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:44 am
by Vlcice
Did this fix make it into 1.2.1? I just upgraded, and this is still happening to me.

Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:47 am
by Catfish_Man
Odd. Definitely seems fixed to me...

Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:57 am
by Vlcice
Hm, strange. Could there have been more than one cause of the same symptom? I'm definitely still seeing this consistently.

Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:19 am
by germanturkey
the new 1.2.1b1 fixes this problem.

Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:23 am
by Catfish_Man
germanturkey wrote:the new 1.2.1b1 fixes this problem.
Actually 1.2.1b1 is old... 1.2.1 final is out, which I presume is what the latest comments are referring to.

Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 6:21 am
by Vlcice
Yes, I'm using 1.2.1 final and am still having this problem.

Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:36 pm
by evands
Please describe step by step what you're doing to elicit the problem.

Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 10:05 pm
by Vlcice
1. Type a multi-line message.
2. Send the message.
3. The size the text bar returns to will have increased by several pixels over the default for every line of text typed beyond one. A two-line message will increase the size of the text box by four pixels, a three-line message will increase it by six, a four-line message will increase it by seven, a five-line message will increase it by nine, and so forth. A single-line message will not increase the size of the text box at all.

The text box can be resized back to the proper default size, but will grow again the next time a multi-line message is sent.

The effect is not entirely cumulative; if the text box has been raised by four pixels via a two-line message, a later two-line message will not increase it any further, and a three-line message will increase it only by a further two pixels, not six.

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:15 pm
by ranathari
I'm also having this problem with 1.2 and 1.2.1. A one line message leaves the textbox as-is but a two line message will expand the textbox to fit the two-line message and it fails to return to the previous size after sending the message.

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:08 pm
by evands
ranathari wrote:I'm also having this problem with 1.2 and 1.2.1. A one line message leaves the textbox as-is but a two line message will expand the textbox to fit the two-line message and it fails to return to the previous size after sending the message.
I can't reproduce this. What version of Mac OS X are you using?

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:24 pm
by Vlcice
If that also applies to me, I'm using 10.4.11.

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:39 am
by evands
So you're seeing:
Type a 2 line message
Send it
The text entry area doesn't return to normal

Just that easy?

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:48 am
by Vlcice
Close to that yes. I can't vouch for ranthari's variation, but for me it is returning to a smaller size - just not down to the default. (And the size it does return to grows after further multi-lines messages.)

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:40 am
by ranathari
I'm using 10.4.11 too and my problem's the same as Vlcice's. Type a one line message and the textbox stays the same, type a two line message and the textbox expands to fit it but doesn't return to the standard size after sending the message. The more multiline messages you send, the greater the size of the textbox after each one.

The problem started after upgrading to 1.2 and remained after moving to 1.2.1.