New Facebook Problem

An instant messenger which can connect to AIM, GTalk, Jabber, ICQ, and more.
anandman
Harmless
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 1:21 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

New Facebook Problem

Postby anandman » Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:35 pm

When I switched to the new Facebook page format, I couldn't login through Adium anymore. Anyone know about this and if this is to be expected? It works fine again when I switch back to the old Facebook page.

bloomanchoo
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:30 pm

Re: New Facebook Problem

Postby bloomanchoo » Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:34 pm

I just want to report that I have the same issue and it happened in the same way.
:|

ilovetaron
Harmless
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:00 pm

Re: New Facebook Problem

Postby ilovetaron » Tue Jul 22, 2008 9:14 pm

Same for me. I just get this prompt and after entering my password it disappears and reappears after a couple seconds.

Image

New Facebook layout and b9.

simonista
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:59 pm

Re: New Facebook Problem

Postby simonista » Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:19 am

I'll cross post this here from trac. the question is how to support this given that http://www.new.facebook.com is probably temporary.

this seems to have more to do with the fact that the new profile view uses http://www.new.facebook.com/* (instead of just http://www.facebook.com) and that the html at http://www.new.facebook.com/home.php is different than http://www.facebook.com, causing the code that pulls out the facebookUID to break.

Specifically this: <a href="http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=[facebookUID]" class="profile_nav_link">Profile</a>

has turned into this: <div id="fb_menu_profile" class="fb_menu"><div class="fb_menu_title"><a href="http://www.new.facebook.com/profile.php?id=[facebookUID]">[Your Name]</a></div></div>

Note that "fb_menu_profile" is unique, but "fb_menu" and "fb_menu_title" are not.

User avatar
Catfish_Man
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:30 am
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: New Facebook Problem

Postby Catfish_Man » Fri Jul 25, 2008 7:32 am

This is fixed in svn now.

anandman
Harmless
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 1:21 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: New Facebook Problem

Postby anandman » Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:15 pm

Thanks! One more thing I noticed is that the Facebook connection ignores my proxy setting. I discovered this accidentally yesterday when my proxy server died and all my other IM connections went down but Facebook chat still worked.

PhilZombie
Harmless
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 1:15 pm

Re: New Facebook Problem

Postby PhilZombie » Sat Jul 26, 2008 6:53 am

Catfish_Man wrote:This is fixed in svn now.

svn?

:???:

User avatar
Chabou
Harmless
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:58 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: New Facebook Problem

Postby Chabou » Sat Jul 26, 2008 7:27 am

PhilZombie wrote:
Catfish_Man wrote:This is fixed in svn now.

svn?

:???:


It means that you will have it in the next beta. ;)
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights. ;)

cmlewan
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 8:57 pm

Re: New Facebook Problem

Postby cmlewan » Fri Aug 01, 2008 9:04 pm

Chabou wrote:
PhilZombie wrote:svn?

:???:

It means that you will have it in the next beta. ;)

I have the same problem as the others, after I tried new.Facebook. But I take it that there is no nightly build so I can fix this immediately...?

(What is SVN short for? I checked Wikipedia, but none of the alternatives was obviously the right one.)

User avatar
Chabou
Harmless
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:58 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: New Facebook Problem

Postby Chabou » Fri Aug 01, 2008 9:24 pm

cmlewan wrote:
Chabou wrote:
PhilZombie wrote:svn?

:???:

It means that you will have it in the next beta. ;)

I have the same problem as the others, after I tried new.Facebook. But I take it that there is no nightly build so I can fix this immediately...?

(What is SVN short for? I checked Wikipedia, but none of the alternatives was obviously the right one.)


SVN is the short of Subversion : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subversion_(software)
I'm sorry but I'm not able to explain it better than wikipedia does.

Anyway, your problem is kinda weird since it is mentionned in the changes log that this has been fixed. :o
And I don't have nay problem while being on new.facebook.com in Adium 1.3b10 for the moment.
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights. ;)

User avatar
Robby
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 2607
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 3:00 am

Re: New Facebook Problem

Postby Robby » Fri Aug 01, 2008 9:32 pm

cmlewan, are you running b10?

cmlewan
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 8:57 pm

Re: New Facebook Problem

Postby cmlewan » Fri Aug 01, 2008 10:16 pm

Robby wrote:cmlewan, are you running b10?

No, b9! It says that there are no updates. (But maybe it always does that when you're using a beta version (different from program to program that).)

Ok, so now I changed to b10. And Facebook is back. Sorry about that, I now understand that that was fixed one or two days ago. Thanks for your help!

User avatar
Robby
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 2607
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 3:00 am

Re: New Facebook Problem

Postby Robby » Fri Aug 01, 2008 10:18 pm

No worries, the auto-update is broken due to internal changes, I believe. Happy to hear it's fixed! :)


Return to “Adium”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]