When I type in Adium, iChat pops up

An instant messenger which can connect to AIM, GTalk, Jabber, ICQ, and more.
Post Reply
movietown7684
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 3:21 am

When I type in Adium, iChat pops up

Post by movietown7684 »

I switched over to Adium recently. I quit out of iChat and removed it from my dock. However, whenever I talk to someone in Adium (all my contacts are from AIM), iChat opens, and a chat window from AIM pops up. I can still chat in Adium, but the iChat is pissing me off. What can I do without completely getting rid of iChat.
allannyholm
Muffin
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 3:02 pm

Re: When I type in Adium, iChat pops up

Post by allannyholm »

Check that Adium is set as the default instant messenger client in iChat's preferences first. If it is, then look around in your menubar to see if you have a speech bubble menuicon from iChat there. If you do then either turn it off in iChat's preferences or Command+ drag the item off the menubar.

It's all I can think of right now.
User avatar
zerock
Crema
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 8:13 pm
Location: Puerto Rico

Re: When I type in Adium, iChat pops up

Post by zerock »

another thing is make sure that iChat is actually offline. since it has the ability to being logged in the background.
movietown7684
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 3:21 am

Re: When I type in Adium, iChat pops up

Post by movietown7684 »

zerock wrote:another thing is make sure that iChat is actually offline. since it has the ability to being logged in the background.

That worked. Thanks!
Post Reply