Page 1 of 1

Sounds not working *solved*

Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2011 4:39 pm
by riguitargod
Hey all,

I'm running Adium 1.4.1 on OS X 10.6.6.

My sounds no longer work in Adium. No matter what I seem to try, nothing will make noise. I tried deleting the preference file ~/Library/Preferences/com.adiumX.adiumX.plist, and that didn't seem to make a difference.

I haven't tried uninstalling/reinstalling yet, as the help says that rarely makes a difference. If I end up going this route, do I have to do anything to make sure my logs get saved?


I can't say for certain when they stopped working. I upgraded to Snow Leopard within the last 2 months. It's very possible that they stopped working then, but again, I can't say for sure.


Any suggestions?

Thanks
-Justin

Re: Sounds not working

Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 2:21 pm
by riguitargod
So I still have no sounds. I tried removing the app and reinstalling yesterday, but of course that didn't help.

Any suggestions anyone??

It's now Adium 1.4.2 on OS X 10.6.8

Re: Sounds not working

Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 8:43 pm
by rubah
Do you have any statuses (away/available, etc) that might be set to "Mute Sounds"?

Re: Sounds not working

Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 8:55 am
by mccloud35
I have the same problem. Tried installing different sound sets as well. Sounds don't work.

Seeme like a bug.

Using Adium 1.4.2 on Mac OS X 10.6.3

Re: Sounds not working

Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 11:51 am
by zac
Check System Preferences > Sounds. What is your "Sound Effects" tab "Play sound effects through:" set to? The volume level?

What's your volume set at in the Adium Events preference?

Re: Sounds not working

Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:54 am
by riguitargod
zac wrote:Check System Preferences > Sounds. What is your "Sound Effects" tab "Play sound effects through:" set to?


This was my problem! I had installed something that let me move sounds to different channels, and must have at some point set that to another channel. I can't remember for the life of me when or why, but that was it.

I had given up, and I moved to iChat, only to find that sounds didn't work there either. Googling the problem with iChat came up with many hits with this suggestion, and that fixed it!