MSN

An instant messenger which can connect to AIM, GTalk, Jabber, ICQ, and more.
Snoozler
Harmless
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:25 am

MSN

Postby Snoozler » Thu Sep 12, 2013 10:21 am

Hi again! I'm back with more msn troubles..

Last time I couldn't connect it worked to sign in on the official site. But now adium just doesn't want to connect to msn at all, even after logging in on the website. It's been about 2-3 days. If it's relevant at all, I just moved to Japan and it seems like it's been since that. Though I don't see why it would matter.. everything else connects just fine.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Snoozler
Harmless
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:25 am

Re: MSN

Postby Snoozler » Sun Sep 15, 2013 8:29 am

Getting desperate here. 5 days with no msn on Adium. Tried installing Trillian to see if I had any problems connecting there. It worked fine..
But I would prefer to keep using Adium if possible :( is there no fix for this?

Herve5
Latté
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:45 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MSN

Postby Herve5 » Sun Sep 15, 2013 1:05 pm

Same here, don't know why. Maybe MSN server url or another setting is wrong in our (detailed) setup panel??

Snoozler
Harmless
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:25 am

Re: MSN

Postby Snoozler » Sun Sep 15, 2013 10:47 pm

I dunno. the login server + port in the account settings was exactly the same in trillian where it connected fine..

Snoozler
Harmless
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:25 am

Re: MSN

Postby Snoozler » Wed Nov 27, 2013 1:32 am

Still unable to connect to MSN through Adium. :(

Herve5
Latté
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:45 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MSN

Postby Herve5 » Wed Nov 27, 2013 6:01 pm

Snoozler wrote:Still unable to connect to MSN through Adium. :(

Same here, latest version, on 10.7. I must say I have little time to test. Did you try to delete the account and restart from scratch?

User avatar
Robby
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 2577
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: MSN

Postby Robby » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:37 am

Are you people seeing any errors when attempting to connect? Check Preferences - Accounts.

Herve5
Latté
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:45 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MSN

Postby Herve5 » Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:19 pm

Robby wrote:Are you people seeing any errors when attempting to connect? Check Preferences - Accounts.


what should I see?
All I get is an indefinitely animated icon, the one that shows while connecting, and in the related menu the comment continuously says "connecting"

I'm unfortunately away from the mac at this time, but I'll open Prefs/accounts and have a look when back. (is there an error log at that place?)

Many thanks for reacting!!
H.

Herve5
Latté
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:45 pm
Location: France
Contact:

(in reply to Robby)

Postby Herve5 » Sat Dec 07, 2013 9:08 am

Ah, yes: there is an error log in prefs/accounts: backtranslated from my french interface, it reads something like:
Error: authentification Windows Live ID: answer is not valid
What I did:
- try to manually connect to man.com with a browser, just co check my credentias were OK
- disconnected the browser
- edited my account in Adium deleting the password, then adding it back.
From then on, it worked.

FWIW, the other account settings for me are:
server : messenger.hotmail.com
port : 1863
http connect : no
allow direct conn. : yes
check email : no
and no proxy set.

Thanks Robby to motivate me enough (and indicating the place to find the log!)

User avatar
Robby
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 2577
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: MSN

Postby Robby » Sat Dec 07, 2013 6:00 pm

Well done, Herve5. =-)

Yes, when getting the error "Error Windows Live ID authentication: Invalid response" the solution for many has been logging into the official website.


Return to “Adium”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users