Is this an Adium issue or my Jabber host?

An instant messenger which can connect to AIM, GTalk, Jabber, ICQ, and more.
Post Reply
Thorzdad
Latté
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 4:34 pm

Is this an Adium issue or my Jabber host?

Post by Thorzdad »

For the past two days, we have been experiencing an odd issue using Jabber on Adium. I can see my contact become active, and they can see me. And, we can see each other's statuses change through the day (Available, Away, etc.) But, none of our actual messages get through to each other. I don't see any of their messages show up on my end, and they don't see mine.

FWIW, we use Koderoot for our Jabber server, and it's been relatively stable overall. I've contacted them to let them know of the issue, but I thought I should ask here, too, in case anyone has a clue as to what's going on.

Thanks.
Thorzdad
Latté
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 4:34 pm

Re: Is this an Adium issue or my Jabber host?

Post by Thorzdad »

If it makes any difference, the version of Adium I'm running is 1.6hgr5946.
I haven't gotten a reply from Koderoot yet.
Thorzdad
Latté
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 4:34 pm

Re: Is this an Adium issue or my Jabber host?

Post by Thorzdad »

I finally heard back from Koderoot via their Github page. It turns out, they had made OTR encryption required. But, after I reported the issue I was having, they discovered their implementation of OTR was preventing all MUC messages from going through. So, they've fiddled with things and messaging works again.
User avatar
Robby
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 2608
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 3:00 am

Re: Is this an Adium issue or my Jabber host?

Post by Robby »

Thanks for keeping us posted. =-)
Post Reply