I need to specify a different group chat server

An instant messenger which can connect to AIM, GTalk, Jabber, ICQ, and more.
MikeS-2
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 2:57 pm

I need to specify a different group chat server

Postby MikeS-2 » Fri Sep 25, 2020 3:19 pm

Hi, for some reason my company doesn't serve the group chat room names from the same resources as the chat services. In pidgin (windows) I was able to modify the group chat server to point to the right place. In Adium it simply prepends "conference" to the Connect Server. The company I work for has a different connection point. I just switched to Mac and everything is going smooth except this one last thing where I need to join a group chat to a part of my job. Everyone else ordered a PC, hopefully I don't need a windows vm just for this, :grin:

example:
Connect server and File transfer server where I work:
xmppresources.companyname.com

Chats with fellow employees come up fine and work.

Adium default group server greyed out and not editable:
conference.xmppresources.companyname.com

There's no connection point here, I cannot join a group chat

The group server I need to use
conference.companyname.com

MikeS-2
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 2:57 pm

Re: I need to specify a different group chat server

Postby MikeS-2 » Fri Sep 25, 2020 4:11 pm

It's greyed out but I CAN edit it, it works! Never-mind!


Vasigo
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2020 11:40 am

Re: I need to specify a different group chat server

Postby Vasigo » Thu Oct 29, 2020 11:56 am

MikeS-2 wrote:It's greyed out but I CAN edit it, it works! Never-mind!


How did you fix it eventually? In my commercial real estate in Munich here I really need to organize chats and names of it.


Return to “Adium”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]