Page 1 of 1

I need to specify a different group chat server

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2020 3:19 pm
by MikeS-2
Hi, for some reason my company doesn't serve the group chat room names from the same resources as the chat services. In pidgin (windows) I was able to modify the group chat server to point to the right place. In Adium it simply prepends "conference" to the Connect Server. The company I work for has a different connection point. I just switched to Mac and everything is going smooth except this one last thing where I need to join a group chat to a part of my job. Everyone else ordered a PC, hopefully I don't need a windows vm just for this, :grin:

example:
Connect server and File transfer server where I work:
xmppresources.companyname.com

Chats with fellow employees come up fine and work.

Adium default group server greyed out and not editable:
conference.xmppresources.companyname.com

There's no connection point here, I cannot join a group chat

The group server I need to use
conference.companyname.com

Re: I need to specify a different group chat server

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2020 4:11 pm
by MikeS-2
It's greyed out but I CAN edit it, it works! Never-mind!

Re: I need to specify a different group chat server

Posted: Mon Sep 28, 2020 7:05 pm
by Simba Cub
=-)