Changing where you go when you click "Open Mail" o

An instant messenger which can connect to AIM, GTalk, Jabber, ICQ, and more.
Post Reply
KatLady81
Latté
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 4:17 pm
Location: PA
Contact:

Changing where you go when you click "Open Mail" o

Post by KatLady81 »

Currently, if I click on the "Open Mail" thing for when I get new Yahoo! Mail, it sends me to https://login.yahoo.com/config/login?.src=ym which always requires me to enter a password, even if I was just there looking at email.
I hate having to enter my Y! password each time. Normally, when I check mail I just use my bookmark which uses http://mail.yahoo.com/ for the addy, which only requires my password every 24 hours.
How can I change that addy I'm sent to when I click the button? (I know, coding somewhere, I tried to find it, with no luck...although I was able to change the message I see when I get new email...heh)
User avatar
FredAkbar
Crema
Posts: 401
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Contact:

Post by FredAkbar »

Found it.

From your source code directory:

adium/Plugins/Gaim Service/Libgaim.framework/Headers/yahoo.h

As of Adium revision 17054, it's line 34:

Code: Select all

#define YAHOO_MAIL_URL "https://login.yahoo.com/config/login?.src=ym"
Try changing that to your URL of choice.
Fred / Adium X 1.2.7
20" iMac w/ Intel Core Duo 2.0 GHz / 2 GB RAM / 256 MB Radeon X1600 / 250 GB HD / OS 10.5.4
FreeRice. Play a free vocab game on this ad-supported site to help fight world hunger.
KatLady81
Latté
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 4:17 pm
Location: PA
Contact:

Post by KatLady81 »

FredAkbar wrote:Found it.

From your source code directory:

adium/Plugins/Gaim Service/Libgaim.framework/Headers/yahoo.h

As of Adium revision 17054, it's line 34:

Code: Select all

#define YAHOO_MAIL_URL "https://login.yahoo.com/config/login?.src=ym"
Try changing that to your URL of choice.
Ok, I can't find it. :( (can't find what file you're talking about)
m2e
Mocha
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 2:43 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by m2e »

The file you are looking for is part of the Adium source code. It is only recommended to use the source code if you know what you are doing. See this for more information http://trac.adiumx.com/wiki/GettingAdiumSource
User avatar
FredAkbar
Crema
Posts: 401
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Contact:

Post by FredAkbar »

Yeah, I assumed you already had the Adium source code, since you mentioned having made a change to something else, but sorry if I misunderstood. In any case, when you check out the Adium source, the folder is by default called "adium" though you can call it whatever you want. Within that "adium" folder, go into the Plugins folder, then into Gaim Service, and so forth, until you find yahoo.h.
Fred / Adium X 1.2.7
20" iMac w/ Intel Core Duo 2.0 GHz / 2 GB RAM / 256 MB Radeon X1600 / 250 GB HD / OS 10.5.4
FreeRice. Play a free vocab game on this ad-supported site to help fight world hunger.
KatLady81
Latté
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 4:17 pm
Location: PA
Contact:

Post by KatLady81 »

ok. Since we now established I don't have it...
Can I fix this on my own? Or should I report a ticket to have it changed?
User avatar
FredAkbar
Crema
Posts: 401
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Contact:

Post by FredAkbar »

If you think mail.yahoo.com is a better URL to use than the current one, open a ticket about it. But if the developers disagree and it stays at the login.yahoo.com URL, then I'd check out the source code and build yourself a modified copy (if it's important enough to you) with the instructions in the page that m2e linked to.
Fred / Adium X 1.2.7
20" iMac w/ Intel Core Duo 2.0 GHz / 2 GB RAM / 256 MB Radeon X1600 / 250 GB HD / OS 10.5.4
FreeRice. Play a free vocab game on this ad-supported site to help fight world hunger.
bduff9
Harmless
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 1:30 am
Location: Illinois

Post by bduff9 »

I also would like to change the mail thing to opening aol communicator instead of going to the aol site. Is that even possible? I know very little coding, so a lot of help would be appreciated. Thanks, Duffey.
Post Reply