AIM just doesn't work.

An instant messenger which can connect to AIM, GTalk, Jabber, ICQ, and more.
Rita
Frappa
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 2:42 am

Post by Rita »

The_Tick wrote:And so far my theory has held, lower numbered accounts are able to sign on and stay on, higher are not. So it proves the point of the accounts that have a lot of buddies being the only ones affected.


I'll add to that theory (I hope)...I've been disconnecting within 3 seconds of connecting and have a score of 13,468.

Is this an issue that only AIM can resolve? I'm still a little confused about how all of this (i.e., the upgrade and Adium's code) works.
Sean
Latté
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 2:54 am
Location: NJ

Post by Sean »

Just wanted to add I have only ten contacts on my AIM sn (an aim fight score of 514), and I have been able to connect fine using 1.0b8.

So the theory of it affecting people with bigger buddy lists is probably true.
Last edited by Sean on Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
OmniGeno
Muffin
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 7:51 pm

Post by OmniGeno »

My AIM accounts have scores of 1633, 6557, and 22. All three are having the same disconnection problem. 10.4.7, 1.0b8, Power Mac G4.

22!!! Getting disconnected. It makes no sense.
The truth is usually just an excuse for a lack of imagination.
User avatar
MacMom
Crema
Posts: 298
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 11:01 pm

Post by MacMom »

The theory may only hold for the beta. My friend with 0.89.1 has a score of 9019. She had a problem this morning, but not since then.
Annoying little frog

"Also, I can kill you with my brain."
User avatar
OmniGeno
Muffin
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 7:51 pm

Post by OmniGeno »

MacMom wrote:The theory may only hold for the beta. My friend with 0.89.1 has a score of 9019. She had a problem this morning, but not since then.


Theory doesn't hold for me. I don't know why.
The truth is usually just an excuse for a lack of imagination.
waffffffle
Muffin
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 12:50 am

Post by waffffffle »

I have the same problem with one of my screen names:

waffffffle: 22199
my other names are in the 3000s range and they work fine.

Is there any workaround right now? It is very frustrating not to be able to get on my screen name.

EDIT: oops, just saw the note on the Adium news page. I guess I'm going back to the old version for now.
User avatar
The_Tick
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 4642
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:06 am
Contact:

Post by The_Tick »

OmniGeno wrote:My AIM accounts have scores of 1633, 6557, and 22.


Wow, alright.

The one with 22, do you know how many contacts you have on that account?
User avatar
OmniGeno
Muffin
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 7:51 pm

Post by OmniGeno »

The_Tick wrote:
OmniGeno wrote:My AIM accounts have scores of 1633, 6557, and 22.


Wow, alright.

The one with 22, do you know how many contacts you have on that account?


180, but only maybe a couple of them actually have me on their list. All three accounts are basically clones of each other, as far as their buddy lists go.
The truth is usually just an excuse for a lack of imagination.
User avatar
John Don
Frappa
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 3:58 pm
Location: North Carolina

Post by John Don »

Yup, I'm still getting disconnected on Adium as well. (and I'm having to get by using the official client, and thats yuck- everything is out of order and discombobulated) :???:
I'm... kinda tired... I think I'll go home now.

-Forrest Gump


I'm an Adiumite!
User avatar
MBHockey
Crema
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:21 pm

Post by MBHockey »

Ha...i spoke too soon ;)

Only iChat is currently working for me.
User avatar
The_Tick
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 4642
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:06 am
Contact:

Post by The_Tick »

MBHockey wrote:Ha...i spoke too soon ;)

Only iChat is currently working for me.


So .89.1 does not?
jeffcr
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 7:06 am
Contact:

Can't login to either AIM or ICQ

Post by jeffcr »

I have been having the same problem as mentioned above but for WEEKS. When I start Adium it keeps asking for my passwords for AIM & ICQ. Even though I enter the correct password it won't connect. I've basically had to stop using Adium. Also can't login to .Mac.

Anyone have a solution??

I am using 0.89.1. Don't see where to download 1.0b.
User avatar
The_Tick
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 4642
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:06 am
Contact:

Re: Can't login to either AIM or ICQ

Post by The_Tick »

jeffcr wrote:I have been having the same problem as mentioned above but for WEEKS. When I start Adium it keeps asking for my passwords for AIM & ICQ. Even though I enter the correct password it won't connect. I've basically had to stop using Adium. Also can't login to .Mac.

Anyone have a solution??

I am using 0.89.1. Don't see where to download 1.0b.


This is a different issue.
User avatar
MacMom
Crema
Posts: 298
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 11:01 pm

Post by MacMom »

Now my second most used sn got banned.

The numbers now:
#1 (most used) sn: 4654
#2 (2nd most used): 1189
#3 (little used): 77

Another interesting tidbit: Each time I have a problem, I get the "Adium is not your default instant messaging client" again.
Annoying little frog

"Also, I can kill you with my brain."
User avatar
kirk
Mocha
Posts: 565
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:56 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Post by kirk »

The_Tick wrote:
MBHockey wrote:Ha...i spoke too soon ;)

Only iChat is currently working for me.


So .89.1 does not?


.89.1 works for me, 1.0b8 does not. Haven't tried it with the SVN (which I haven't re-compiled in weeks)
the sky is going to crush you.
aitikin
Harmless
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 8:15 am

Hmm

Post by aitikin »

Interesting, gaim has been having a similar problem with MSN. I don't think there's any connection, but still. Anyone have any bright ideas?
"The only way to lead a good life is to act on your emotions" ~Heero Yuy
partyboy2306
Harmless
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 8:30 am

Post by partyboy2306 »

I got a score of 14,666 and CANT connect. However, it still works in iChat.
that guy
Harmless
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 4:37 am
Contact:

my question

Post by that guy »

it's been a few months, and i'm still painfully missing my adium. is there anything i can do to return to using adium, or should i await a fix?
User avatar
The_Tick
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 4642
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:06 am
Contact:

Post by The_Tick »

MacMom wrote:Now my second most used sn got banned.

The numbers now:
#1 (most used) sn: 4654
#2 (2nd most used): 1189
#3 (little used): 77

Another interesting tidbit: Each time I have a problem, I get the "Adium is not your default instant messaging client" again.


Are you launching iChat before relaunching Adium?
User avatar
The_Tick
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 4642
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:06 am
Contact:

Re: my question

Post by The_Tick »

that guy wrote:it's been a few months, and i'm still painfully missing my adium. is there anything i can do to return to using adium, or should i await a fix?



This issue has been occuring for folks for the last 24 hours.

Please open a new thread on your issue.
Locked