Garbage!

An instant messenger which can connect to AIM, GTalk, Jabber, ICQ, and more.
ccohen
Harmless
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 8:25 pm

Garbage!

Postby ccohen » Tue Aug 29, 2006 6:18 pm

All of a sudden my headers for MSN have gone to:
<msnobj Creator="messenger@xxxxx.co.uk" Size="12448" Type="3" Location="TFR2C2.tmp" Friendly="AAA=" SHA1D="VwZ+anbinvq8UOR63TDT85

Difficult for recipient to see where main message starts...

They were just my name.

I did not change anything and can see nothing in Prefs like it. Quitting - and even re-starting - does not help

Help!

Colin

Adium 0.89.1, OSX 10.4.7

User avatar
kirk
Mocha
Posts: 565
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:56 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Postby kirk » Tue Aug 29, 2006 8:16 pm

It might be the message style you're using, try another. If all else fails, try out the beta.
the sky is going to crush you.

ccohen
Harmless
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 8:25 pm

RE: Garbage

Postby ccohen » Wed Aug 30, 2006 6:06 pm

It made no difference changing styles, and I have the latest version I can find of Adium.

One minute it was fine, the next i get these grabage headers instead of a user name...

Colin

User avatar
Shark!!
Latté
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Contact:

Re: RE: Garbage

Postby Shark!! » Wed Aug 30, 2006 7:01 pm

ccohen wrote:I have the latest version I can find of Adium.

You can find the latest beta at beta.adiumx.com .. currently b11 is the latest..
Image
Image
Image

ccohen
Harmless
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 8:25 pm

Postby ccohen » Wed Aug 30, 2006 7:06 pm

Thanks.

I have not used MSN, as opposed to Adium, for months.

Just gave it a go and the problem is the same - two lines of garbage in the header.

So, it's not Adium, but something in OS X - just wish I knew what!

Colin

User avatar
Shark!!
Latté
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Contact:

Postby Shark!! » Wed Aug 30, 2006 7:11 pm

did you try deleting every files related to adium and then re-installing it?
Image

Image

Image

User avatar
evands
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 3152
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 10:55 pm
Location: Decatur, GA
Contact:

Postby evands » Wed Aug 30, 2006 8:24 pm

Don't do that. Shark!!, I appreciate your trying to help; please ask users to rename their Adium 2.0 folder or to backup then delete, rather than simply asking them to delete it -- folks might not realize that deletion would destroy their saved logs, for example, as well.

Your MSN display name just got corrupted. Preferences->Accounts-><your MSN account>, click the Personal tab.

This happens sometimes with MSN; Adium respects what the server tells us you want your display name to be, then saves that, and sometimes the server says something wrong.
The duck still burns.
--
My company: Saltatory Software. Check it out :)

ccohen
Harmless
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 8:25 pm

Postby ccohen » Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:55 am

Thank you - that fixed it.

Colin


Return to “Adium”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users