Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

An RSS/Atom newsreader with features comparable to commercial newsreaders.
strickr
Harmless
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:51 pm

Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby strickr » Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:01 pm

Intel, Mac OS X 10.5.8, updated to latest stable release 2.5.0.2501

When trying to use "Customize Toolbar ..." (Symbolleiste anpassen ...), via menu bar or contextual menu item, the toolbar itself gets editabe (can move symbols around or off), but the sheet with the symbols and the OK button doesn't appear.

Syslog entries at same time:

Code: Select all

Vienna[17140]: *** -[AppController encodeWithCoder:]: unrecognized selector sent to instance 0x258460
Vienna[17140]: *** -[AppController encodeWithCoder:]: unrecognized selector sent to instance 0x258460


Trashing preferences (resetting) or reinstalling manually didn't change problem.

User avatar
Michael Ströck
Vienna Team
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby Michael Ströck » Fri Mar 19, 2010 5:04 pm

Were you using 2.5 Beta before you downloaded the final version?

strickr
Harmless
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:51 pm

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby strickr » Fri Mar 19, 2010 5:07 pm

Michael Ströck wrote:Were you using 2.5 Beta before you downloaded the final version?


I don't think so - I use Auto Update, which, AFAIK, only updates stable releases?

Edit: Checked Time Machine, previous version: 2.4.0.2401

strickr
Harmless
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:51 pm

Spaces settings

Postby strickr » Fri Mar 19, 2010 5:16 pm

Additional info: As there was a previous problem with modal windows reported:
Bug: Vienna Settings + Spaces

I have assigned Vienna a Space via "Exposé & Spaces" (Space 2 of 4).

monstergarden
Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 7:28 pm

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby monstergarden » Sun Mar 21, 2010 11:42 am

With Spaces disabled, this is still "broken" for me as well. No Customize Toolbar mini window, and can't use toolbar icons (can only move them-stuck in customize toolbar mode) unless I restart Vienna.
Using Mac OS 10.5.8

User avatar
AlanR
Frappa
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby AlanR » Sun Mar 21, 2010 12:25 pm

Indeed, Customize Toolbar is not working for me either.

I shoulda noticed that long ago.

dirt farmer
Latté
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:25 pm

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby dirt farmer » Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:39 pm

I'll beat this dead horse, even though I don't care about customized toolbars.... it's not working

User avatar
Michael Ströck
Vienna Team
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby Michael Ströck » Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:16 am

Hi,

Thank you for all your reports. Right now, I have no idea what is causing this. It is not happening to me on any of my machines, and obviously Steve also doesn't have that problem or he would have asked me to delay the release... Could somebody try deleting his application preferences (just the preferences - not the database) and see if it fixes the problem?

Michael

User avatar
Michael Ströck
Vienna Team
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby Michael Ströck » Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:19 am

Also: Did any of you experience that problem in 2.5 BETA?

strickr
Harmless
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:51 pm

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby strickr » Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:41 am

Michael Ströck wrote:Could somebody try deleting his application preferences (just the preferences - not the database) and see if it fixes the problem?


No, doesn't fix. Mac OS X 10.5.8, Intel, no previous beta, German Localisation. WebKit Nightly Latest, DevTools installed (Xcode 3.1.3), Growl.

User avatar
AlanR
Frappa
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby AlanR » Tue Mar 23, 2010 1:04 am

Michael Ströck wrote:Also: Did any of you experience that problem in 2.5 BETA?

Never tried to customize the Toolbar with the beta or sneak peeks. It's not something I do very often but it's definitely broken.

Edit: Oh wait, of course I did or I wouldn't have been able to see the new buttons so it did work and I can't tell when it failed.

User avatar
AlanR
Frappa
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby AlanR » Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:39 am

I know where it broke. An unexpected use for the sneak peeks.

I have version 1532 there which works OK.
Version 1534 does not work correctly

Hope this helps.

See: http://vienna.mpaka.com/forum/viewtopic ... 4&p=43#p43

User avatar
Sequoyah
Harmless
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:28 am

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby Sequoyah » Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:16 pm

I am having the exact same issue. G5 iMac OS X 10.5.8

strickr wrote:Intel, Mac OS X 10.5.8, updated to latest stable release 2.5.0.2501

When trying to use "Customize Toolbar ..." (Symbolleiste anpassen ...), via menu bar or contextual menu item, the toolbar itself gets editabe (can move symbols around or off), but the sheet with the symbols and the OK button doesn't appear.

Syslog entries at same time:

Code: Select all

Vienna[17140]: *** -[AppController encodeWithCoder:]: unrecognized selector sent to instance 0x258460
Vienna[17140]: *** -[AppController encodeWithCoder:]: unrecognized selector sent to instance 0x258460


Trashing preferences (resetting) or reinstalling manually didn't change problem.
Image

MifYz
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 1:14 pm

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby MifYz » Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:41 pm

I have the same problem.
10.5.8, iMac MB 420.

younkint
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:30 pm

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby younkint » Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:34 pm

Vienna 2.5.0.2501, OS X 10.5.8. "Customize Toolbar" not working from menu bar or from ctrl-click. Previous beta worked fine.

Bonobo
Harmless
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:07 am

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby Bonobo » Thu Mar 25, 2010 10:10 pm

strickr wrote:Intel, Mac OS X 10.5.8, updated to latest stable release 2.5.0.2501

When trying to use "Customize Toolbar ..." (Symbolleiste anpassen ...), via menu bar or contextual menu item, the toolbar itself gets editabe (can move symbols around or off), but the sheet with the symbols and the OK button doesn't appear.

[..]
FWIW, with Vienna 2.5.0.2501 and Snow Leopard OS X 10.6.2 it works.

Greetings, Tom

Bairnsfather
Harmless
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 8:51 pm

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby Bairnsfather » Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:33 am

I too tried to Customize Toolbar... and found the drop down sheet missing, but the toolbar was editable (space holders were visible). The sheet wasn't there at all, in other words I could still click in the interface and select feeds etc...

I upgrade my PBG4 from 10.4.11 a few weeks ago with a clean install of 10.5 and now have 10.5.8 with all updates. To keep my wits about me in case of issues, I have slowly been upgrading my software instead of doing it all at once. Makes knowing where the problems are coming from much easier. :)

So today I finally decided update from Vienna 2.3.4.2305 to the current 2.5 version. I archived my database, to be on the safe side. The first thing I did after opening 2.5 was to try to customize the toolbar, to see if there were any new buttons. That's when I noticed this problem.

So I quit and reopened and tried again. Same problem. I quit Vienna. I deleted the prefs and reopened it, my custom prefs were gone, but the problem persisted. So I figured I would try the most recent 2.4.

I quit and trashed 2.5, then put my original prefs back. I trashed the upgraded database and expanded my backup 2.3 database (just in case there was a diff between the 2.5 and 2.4 database structure).

Upon opening 2.4 it updated the database, and the first thing I did was Customize Toolbar... and it worked as expected.

So there seems (based on the above comments) to be an issue with 10.5.8. I too have similar entries in the Console:

Code: Select all

Mar 26 18:05:08 pbg4 Vienna[14377]: *** -[AppController encodeWithCoder:]: unrecognized selector sent to instance 0x277dc0

inflector
Muffin
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 4:59 am

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby inflector » Sat Mar 27, 2010 6:23 am

Vienna 2.5.0.2501 and Snow Leopard OS X 10.6.2 works fine for me too.

- Curtis

User avatar
Robby
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 2606
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 3:00 am

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby Robby » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:58 pm

Same issue here with 2.5 release on Mac OS X 10.5.8, German localisation. I'm seeing the same entry in the Console as strickr and Bairnsfather.

This looks very much a Leopard-only problem.

User avatar
Michael Ströck
Vienna Team
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Re: Bug: "Customize Toolbar ..." not working (2501)

Postby Michael Ströck » Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:10 am

Robby wrote:Same issue here with 2.5 release on Mac OS X 10.5.8, German localisation. I'm seeing the same entry in the Console as strickr and Bairnsfather.

This looks very much a Leopard-only problem.


Thanks for reporting. The problem is that none of us devs are experiencing this problem, so it's hard to track down. Suggestions very welcome :-)


Return to “Vienna”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher