64bit version of 2.6

An RSS/Atom newsreader with features comparable to commercial newsreaders.
User avatar
ansani
Latté
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:47 am
Location: Catanzaro - Italy

64bit version of 2.6

Post by ansani »

Hi Guys!
Yesterday I downloladed Vienna sources from GIT and noticed that it don't build for 64bit arch, so I patched some files to support 64bit build on Xcode 4.2 and Lionn (10.7).
Anyone can be interested on these patches ?

Best,
Salvatore
veke
Latté
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:18 pm

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by veke »

I'd be interested in a compiled version! Post a link please?
User avatar
ansani
Latté
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:47 am
Location: Catanzaro - Italy

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by ansani »

Attached is a 64 bit release of latest 2.6 branch.

My goal is now to add some Lion features (like fullscreen support for example).

Hope all works ok.

Best,
Salvatore
Attachments
Vienna64bit.app.zip
(5.14 MiB) Downloaded 492 times
jeff_johnson_dev
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 9:12 pm

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by jeff_johnson_dev »

FYI, I created a 64-bit branch of Vienna some time ago:

http://vienna-rss.svn.sourceforge.net/v ... hes/64bit/
Herve5
Latté
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:45 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by Herve5 »

I am a programming-illiterate user with a huge lot of feeds, on a version called 2.5.1.2502 which when checking doesn't proposes to upgrade to 2.6.
Will a 64bits version accelerate thousands-feed database processing?
If yes is the upgrade transparent (or should I have a backup)?
And in this case which version should I choose (knowing I won't compile anything from the repository)
TIA!
User avatar
ansani
Latté
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:47 am
Location: Catanzaro - Italy

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by ansani »

@jeff: I downloaded your fork some time ago but I got some errors on Xcode 4.2 and version is not aligned with 2.6 trunk.

I did some other optimizations and added support for Lion fullscreen feature.

Attached is latest build.

If you use the 64bit build, tell me if something don't work.
Attachments
Vienna.app.zip
(5.13 MiB) Downloaded 474 times
veke
Latté
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:18 pm

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by veke »

I tried the 64-bit build (thanks a lot!), but it won't show anything in the article pain, nor will it it mark feeds as read when I go through them. I tried trashing the .plist but that didn't help. I might try to let it rebuild the database once I've exported the feeds from the 32-bit version.
User avatar
ansani
Latté
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:47 am
Location: Catanzaro - Italy

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by ansani »

hi Veke!
test latest build I attached. I fixed lot of strange behaviors :)

Tnx,
Salvatore
veke
Latté
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:18 pm

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by veke »

I tried that, same behaviour :(
User avatar
ansani
Latté
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:47 am
Location: Catanzaro - Italy

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by ansani »

The attached build fix the error found by veke and other small bugs!

Tnx for testing!!!!!

Salvatore
Attachments
Vienna.app.zip
(5.13 MiB) Downloaded 464 times
veke
Latté
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:18 pm

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by veke »

This build seems to work!! Much appriciated!
veke
Latté
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:18 pm

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by veke »

It works great, I LOVE FULLSCREEN! There's one little issue though and that is that the devider between the feeds and the article pane is not draggable. I would like to be able to resize the article pane like I could with the 32-bit build. If possible. Thanks!
Herve5
Latté
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:45 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by Herve5 »

Herve5 wrote:I am a programming-illiterate user with a huge lot of feeds, on a version called 2.5.1.2502 which when checking doesn't proposes to upgrade to 2.6.
Will a 64bits version accelerate thousands-feed database processing?
If yes is the upgrade transparent (or should I have a backup)?
nobody here to answer?
What I mean by "transparent" is, if I want to get back to my old v. 2.5, can I do it just by restarting v. 2.5 or will the database be upgraded by 2.6 in such a way that I can't get back without replacing it?
TIA,
Hervé
veke
Latté
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:18 pm

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by veke »

The database will be compatible with 2.5. I haven't had any problems moving back to it after trying different 2.6 builds. Make a backup of the Vienna folder in /Library/Application Support just to be safe.
Herve5
Latté
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:45 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by Herve5 »

veke wrote:The database will be compatible with 2.5. I haven't had any problems moving back to it after trying different 2.6 builds. Make a backup of the Vienna folder in /Library/Application Support just to be safe.
Excellent. Thanks a lot!
Hervé
User avatar
ansani
Latté
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:47 am
Location: Catanzaro - Italy

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by ansani »

Hi Hervè!
If you want to test 64bit version of Vienna 2.6, just download attach from post I wrote @Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:32 pm.

Test with your feeds and tell me if you had errors :)

Tnx,
Salvatore
User avatar
ansani
Latté
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:47 am
Location: Catanzaro - Italy

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by ansani »

Hi Guys!
Attached a new build who fix resize bug ;)

Tnx for testing!

Salvatore
Attachments
Vienna.app.zip
(5.12 MiB) Downloaded 449 times
veke
Latté
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:18 pm

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by veke »

I might have missunderstood something, but I still can't seem to resize the reading pane? Here's what it looks like my end, should the cursor change to an upwards arrow or somehting?

http://cl.ly/2m0U110J1q1x441s1325
Herve5
Latté
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:45 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by Herve5 »

Ah, too bad, my good old MBP apparently won't run the 64 bits version at all :(
"about this mac" -> Processor = 2.16 Intel Core Duo...
See you when on next mac ;-)
Hervé
veke
Latté
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:18 pm

Re: 64bit version of 2.6

Post by veke »

Here's what happens if I change the layout to "condense". I really like what you have done with the code!

https://skitch.com/veke/gph2d/vienna
Post Reply