Snak, AppleScript, and Me: A Tale of Failure

The Growl forums have moved to Google Groups, this forum is read only.
ja2ke
Harmless

Snak, AppleScript, and Me: A Tale of Failure

Postby ja2ke » Mon Apr 04, 2005 5:38 am

Hi there, sorry for my absolute noobness to both AppleScript and Growl, but I have nowhere else to turn :) I just got Growl earlier today and am loving it. I noticed there was a script for Snak included on the Growl disk image, though it had no instructions. I have failed utterly to get it to work, and would love it if someone could point me in the right direction, but first I guess I should outline my tale of woe:

I looked at the included Snak script, and added to the keyword notifier area of the script a couple of keywords I thought I might want to be notified about. Ok cool, so far so good.

Now I wondered how to get Snak to pay attention to it (I've never actually used an AppleScript with Snak, be it the bundled scripts or user installed, never touched it :)). Simply drop it in Snak's "Scripts" folder? Hm, no. Is there a Scripts menu in the app itself? Er not there either I guess.

So, I finally RTFM and discovered I was supposed to drop it in Snak's "Scripts" folder and then type /load [script name] in the Snak command line. Piece of cake. So I /load Growl.scpt and (hooray!!) GrowlSnak appears in my Growl apps list!

Now maybe I'll try receiving a /msg... or typing a line of text that includes my nick or one of the keywords I included in the script. You know, to see if I could actually see a Snak Growl notification in action. This is where it all came crashing down. If I tried any of the above things (getting /msg'd, receiving a line of text with my own nick or with one of the other keywords I specified), Snak would just churn out the error

Code: Select all

Info: A script error occurred when trying to call the privmsg event handler

:cry: