Automator Support

The Growl forums have moved to Google Groups, this forum is read only.
User avatar
highpass
Muffin
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:46 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Automator Support

Postby highpass » Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:57 pm

Hi all, i did a quick search before posting and didnt really find a definitive answer, so here i am. Where can i pick up GrowlHelperApp, that is mentioned in the following link: http://forums.cocoaforge.com/viewtopic. ... =automator

Have users simply compiled this from source, or is there a ready-made version floating around somewhere?

thankin-you

User avatar
Diggory
Growl Team
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 12:17 pm
Location: London

Postby Diggory » Fri Feb 24, 2006 6:26 pm

GrowlHelperApp is the invisible application that actually displays Growl notifications - if you're running Growl - you've already got GHA.

User avatar
highpass
Muffin
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:46 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

hahah

Postby highpass » Fri Feb 24, 2006 6:42 pm

Ahh right.. i look about as stupid as a nun in a brothel. ok anyway:

My next question then, is how do i go about getting Growl actions to show up in Automator?

Thanks, by the way.

User avatar
Diggory
Growl Team
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 12:17 pm
Location: London

Postby Diggory » Fri Feb 24, 2006 7:33 pm

No, not stupid. There's no reason you should automatically know about GHA.

I have to admit I don't use Automator - so I don't know the correct answer to your question - I assumed that the Growl action is automatically added to Automator when you start-up Growl.

[edit]

Hmm - If you put the Growl PrefPane in ~/Library rather than /Library (like me) you may need to dig into the prefpane's bundle and open the action manually from there:

See this thread: http://forums.cocoaforge.com/viewtopic. ... =automator

e.g. Find the Growl prefpane -> show package contents, navigate to contents/resources/GrowlHelperApp -> show package contents again -> navigate to contents/library/automator -> drag the "Show Growl Notification.action" file to automator.

Phew - a bit nasty - but should do the trick.

User avatar
highpass
Muffin
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:46 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby highpass » Fri Feb 24, 2006 8:07 pm

Great :D Followed your instructions to import the Action, it didn't show up until I paused Growl, and moved the prefpane to /Library (as mentioned in the link you provided).

It's fair to assume this also applies to the Spotlight plugin too, I guess.
It might be worth adding the info to the help file at some point.

Cheers Diggory!

User avatar
yelly
Crema
Posts: 292
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 2:20 pm
Location: Jerusalem, Israel
Contact:

Postby yelly » Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:27 am

highpass wrote:Great :D Followed your instructions to import the Action, it didn't show up until I paused Growl, and moved the prefpane to /Library (as mentioned in the link you provided).

It's fair to assume this also applies to the Spotlight plugin too, I guess.
It might be worth adding the info to the help file at some point.

Cheers Diggory!

spotlight plugin?

User avatar
highpass
Muffin
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:46 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby highpass » Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:27 pm

well, whatever GrowlImporter.mdimporter is (within GrowlHelperApp's Library/Automator folder).


Return to “Growl”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users