External Editors Greyed Out in Preferences

The Cyberduck forums have moved to Google Groups, this forum is read only.
DigitalSleet
Harmless
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 8:46 pm

External Editors Greyed Out in Preferences

Postby DigitalSleet » Mon Feb 07, 2005 9:09 pm

I am a new Mac so I hope I am not missing something stupid. Please feel free to tell me if I am :-)

I am using Cyberduck 2.4.b4 and SubEthaEdit 2.1.1. When I go into my Cyberduck Preferences all of the External Editors with the exception of BBEdit are greyed out. SubEthaEdit works fine and is associated with files I download.

Any suggestions on what I should do?

Thanks

B

dkocher
Cyberduck Team
Posts: 763
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:41 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Postby dkocher » Mon Feb 07, 2005 9:21 pm

(1) Launch Subethaedit
(2) Quit Subethaedit
(3) Launch Cyberduck

Hope that helps. If not, then logging out and in again from the system might also be an option.

DigitalSleet
Harmless
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 8:46 pm

Postby DigitalSleet » Mon Feb 07, 2005 9:24 pm

dkocher wrote:(1) Launch Subethaedit
(2) Quit Subethaedit
(3) Launch Cyberduck

Hope that helps. If not, then logging out and in again from the system might also be an option.


No luck. I even rebooted and the same.

Would manually editing the ch.sudo.cyberduck.plist file help, and if so what values would I put in?

dkocher
Cyberduck Team
Posts: 763
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:41 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Postby dkocher » Mon Feb 07, 2005 9:33 pm

Try rebuilding the launchservices database. See http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20031215144430486

DigitalSleet
Harmless
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 8:46 pm

Postby DigitalSleet » Mon Feb 07, 2005 9:47 pm

dkocher wrote:Try rebuilding the launchservices database. See http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20031215144430486


Just not my day. No changes :?

DigitalSleet
Harmless
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 8:46 pm

Fixed!

Postby DigitalSleet » Mon Feb 07, 2005 10:18 pm

Rebuilding the database did work after all. After that I had to follow your original advice and open and close SubEthaEdit at least once. In my tinkering I had also unchecked the "Double Click Opens File in External Editior" setting.

Thanks!!!!!


Return to “Cyberduck”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users