0.83 - AIM

An instant messenger which can connect to AIM, GTalk, Jabber, ICQ, and more.
User avatar
ericfluxx
Harmless
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 9:06 am
Location: Tampa
Contact:

0.83 - AIM

Postby ericfluxx » Tue Aug 23, 2005 7:33 pm

I just downloaded 0.83 and when I logged in, it only shows about 1/3 of who's online on my AIM list. All the other services seem to work fine, but when I log in using the official aim client it shows about 3x as many contacts online as the new adium does.

DigitalFlame
Harmless
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 11:43 pm
Location: Woodland Hills, CA

Postby DigitalFlame » Tue Aug 23, 2005 7:39 pm

Im having the same problem here

User avatar
ericfluxx
Harmless
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 9:06 am
Location: Tampa
Contact:

Postby ericfluxx » Tue Aug 23, 2005 7:42 pm

good, so im not crazy.

ldub
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 5:50 pm

Postby ldub » Tue Aug 23, 2005 7:48 pm

i got a weird problem here too with aim group chat. i'm seeing 2 of everything i type. was fine in .83rc1.

Kaze
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 7:53 pm

Postby Kaze » Tue Aug 23, 2005 7:55 pm

Same problem here. I log on fine, but only a few people from each group show up when there's actually more online. Hmmm...

envisean
Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 7:56 pm

Postby envisean » Tue Aug 23, 2005 7:59 pm

exact same problem. it's really bugging me, i've tried the disconnect/reconnect method to no avail.

User avatar
ericfluxx
Harmless
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 9:06 am
Location: Tampa
Contact:

Postby ericfluxx » Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:00 pm

envisean wrote:exact same problem. it's really bugging me, i've tried the disconnect/reconnect method to no avail.


yeah ive done it a ton of times also. alas, to no avail.

Crypt
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 491
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:16 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Contact:

Postby Crypt » Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:00 pm

ditto same problem
"Bite my shiny metal ass!"
- Bender

adiumx DOT com MOTHA F**KA!

vwrem
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:02 pm

Postby vwrem » Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:04 pm

same troubles here.

User avatar
ericfluxx
Harmless
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 9:06 am
Location: Tampa
Contact:

Postby ericfluxx » Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:06 pm

i wonder if th eres some correlation between the facts that the people who arent showing up in my adium list are the people who have away messages up on my actual AIM list.

well, no. adium shows ONE person on aim with an away message. but 7 others arent showing up who do have one up.

sky58
Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:04 pm

Postby sky58 » Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:08 pm

Yup, I have the same problem as well. However, people can still message you and you can still message them. It's just that they will appear offline so you don't know when they're on :( From the looks of it, a lot of people do have this problem and hopefully it'll be resolved soon :)

dtravis7
Harmless
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:22 pm
Location: Modesto, Ca
Contact:

Postby dtravis7 » Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:29 pm

Same problem on this end. I would say about 1/2 of my AIM buddies are not showing up. All was fine before I upgraded to .83. Glad I am not the only one having this issue. I though I was loosing it for a minute!

Ramrizzle
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:24 pm
Contact:

Postby Ramrizzle » Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:31 pm

im freakin out! i restared and nothing happend. hope it gets fixed soon

intrinsicchaos
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:41 pm

Postby intrinsicchaos » Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:42 pm

same here. fooey!

JTelcontar
Harmless
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 1:10 am

Postby JTelcontar » Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:55 pm

Same here. Went from 38 people online, to only 22. Luckily I had the .dmg of 0.82, so I just went back to that.

haboobgoeee
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 7:31 pm
Contact:

Postby haboobgoeee » Tue Aug 23, 2005 9:46 pm

This apparently is a big problem (I'm experiencing it too). I've gone back to using AIM and will until Adium gets this taken care of.

envisean
Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 7:56 pm

Postby envisean » Tue Aug 23, 2005 9:49 pm

I believe this problem occurs because they fixed something about AIM loading faster now, as far as the connection happens. If you watched the 0.82 load the buddy list, there would be 2-3 waves of buddies being loaded into the contact list, but now there is simply 1 wave instantly. With 0.82 it usually takes about 2 seconds to load the whole buddy list, but now there is no lag, and I feel like the new adium is not accepting the second set of buddies after the first one. Anyone notice the same thing?

the W'rkncacnter
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 9:11 pm
Contact:

Postby the W'rkncacnter » Tue Aug 23, 2005 9:50 pm

Same problem here. Versiontracker has .82, downgrading solved the problem for me.

User avatar
ericfluxx
Harmless
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 9:06 am
Location: Tampa
Contact:

Postby ericfluxx » Tue Aug 23, 2005 11:20 pm

i'll do the same, downgrade and wait for a fix...

haboobgoeee
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 7:31 pm
Contact:

Postby haboobgoeee » Tue Aug 23, 2005 11:53 pm

Managed to find a 0.82 downgrade elsewhere, works 100%. Will wait for the fix to upgrade.


Return to “Adium”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot]